You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Blaugrüner Ring - © Cro&Co
Blaugrüner Ring - © Cro&Co
Blaugrüner Ring - © Cro&Co
Blaugrüner Ring - © Cro&Co
Blaugrüner Ring - © Cro&Co

Blaugrüner Ring

Competition by CroMe Studio

Dusseldorf boasts a plethora of cultural venues along the Rhine and in its parks: theatres, museums, operas. They offer extraordinary potential, which the city wanted to highlight by launching an ideas competition for a new urban vision. 

In response, we wanted to create a trail through the city, integrating marked paths to cultural venues and monuments, in order to give them maximum visibility and to facilitate access.
We took the Rhine as our starting point, imagining a new floating walkway, a kilometre long on the river. Punctuated by large totems situated at the intersections of the riverfront with the main roadways, the riverbanks become the nodal point of the city, from which paths are drawn to link the main cultural institutions.
The walk through Düsseldorf passes across footbridges that accommodate changes in level, and along broad footpaths, integrating a comprehensive signage system that includes lighting installations, landscaping and regular orientation panels.

As well as enhancing the existing cultural venues, the riverbank becomes a destination for a variety of public activities, temporary or permanent, sports, cultural, gastronomic, as well as alternative economic activities (containers to house start-ups). Underneath the deck, the submerged body of the platform contains 500 parking places, making it possible to intercept the traffic before it enters the city centre. 

The proposal is accompanied by a graphic identity, predominantly blue and green: a new logo for the city identity, used on signage panels for pathfinding, and in an illumination based on a dialogue between water and vegetation, blue and green, the riverside and the city. The multiple liquid states of water, glinting and undulating, are captured and retransmitted on the city side, and in turn the vegetal energy of the urban fabric is collected in the city and revealed on the Rhine as a reflection on the river. A double reflection, creating a sculpture of light, instantly noticeable and visible from a distance.

Programme: The creation of a new urban vision for the cultural city | Client: City of Dusseldorf | Architect: CroMe Studio | Landscaping: Justine Mietting | Lighting: BOA Light Studio | Sustainability: Drees & Sommer | Signage: Gérard Plénacoste | Date: January — Febuary 2019 | Location: Dusseldorf centre and riverbanks, Germany

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Blaugrüner Ring - © Cro&Co
Blaugrüner Ring - © Cro&Co
Blaugrüner Ring - © Cro&Co
Blaugrüner Ring - © Cro&Co
Blaugrüner Ring - © Cro&Co

Blaugrüner Ring

Concours by CroMe Studio

Düsseldorf est riche en établissements culturels disséminés le long du Rhin et dans les parcs : théâtres, musées, opéras. Ils offrent un potentiel extraordinaire que la ville a souhaité valoriser en lançant un concours d’idées pour concevoir une nouvelle vision urbaine. 

En réponse, nous avons voulu créer un parcours à l’échelle de la ville, intégrant des chemins balisés vers les lieux culturels et les monuments, afin de leur donner une plus grande visibilité et en faciliter l’accès.

Nous avons pris le Rhin comme point de départ, et avons imaginé une nouvelle promenade flottante d’un kilomètre de long sur le fleuve. Ponctuée par de grands totems situés à l’intersection des quais et d’axes urbains majeurs, la berge devient le point nodal de la ville, d’où se dessinent les chemins qui relient les principales institutions culturelles.
La balade se déploie à travers des passerelles piétonnes qui assurent les écarts de niveaux, et des trottoirs généreux accompagnés d’un système signalétique complet, comprenant des jeux d’éclairage, des aménagements paysagers, et des panneaux servant de repères réguliers à travers Düsseldorf.

En plus de la valorisation des lieux culturels existants, la berge se destine à recevoir des activités publiques variées, éphémères ou fixes, sportives, culturelles et gastronomiques, ainsi que des activités économiques alternatives (containers pour startup). Sous le deck, le corps immergé de la plate-forme contient 500 places de stationnement qui permettent d’intercepter le trafic avant d’entrer dans le centre-ville.

La proposition s’accompagne d’une création graphique, à dominante bleue et verte : un nouveau logo pour l’identité de la ville, décliné sur des panneaux de signalétique accompagnant les flux, et une mise en lumière basée sur un dialogue entre l‘eau et le végétal, le bleu et le vert, la berge et la ville. Les multiples états liquides de l’eau, ses scintillements et ondulations, sont captés puis retransmis côté ville et, réciproquement, l’énergie végétale du tissu urbain est recueillie côté ville et se révèle sur le Rhin, jouant de réflexion sur le fleuve. Une double mise en abyme, qui créé une sculpture de lumière immédiatement remarquable et visible au lointain.

Programme : création d’une nouvelle vision urbaine pour la ville culturelle | MO : Stadt Düsseldorf | Architecte : CroMe Studio | Paysage : Justine Mietting | Mise en lumière : BOA Light Studio | Environnement : Drees & Sommer | Signalétique : Gérard Plénacoste | Date : Janvier-Février 2019 | Site : Centre et berges de Düsseldorf, Allemagne