You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Haus des Turismus, Stuttgart - © Cro&Co
Haus des Turismus, Stuttgart - © Cro&Co
Haus des Turismus, Stuttgart - © Cro&Co

Haus des Turismus, Stuttgart

Competition by CroMe Studio

Right in the historic centre of Stuttgart, on the main market square with the City Hall, the tourist information centre represents the city and the region. It must therefore symbolize its riches and its particularities: technology, art and culture, cuisine, wine, but also nature, and in particular the exceptional geographic situation of this city surrounded by hills.

The strong character of the much-altered existing building had charmed us, and we decided to preserve as much of it as possible and to make the most of it.
The existing volume is completed to become a precise parallelepiped with rounded corners, floating on a transparent base. A cantilevering strip of balconies is added along the full length of the façade on the market side in order to create external spaces that forge a strong link with the city.

The envelope of the building is made up of vertical batons in white terracotta, the density of which varies according to the internal function at that point. It provides solar and/​or visual screening for the users, and ensures the unity of the ensemble, giving it a new identity.

Inside this parallelepiped, the existing structure in concrete has been precisely scooped out at times to provide double- or triple-height areas, creating surprises’ that are visible from the outside. Housing specific functions (wine bar, auditorium, atrium, restaurant), these volumes, full or empty, like precious objects in a display case, reveal to the outside world the intensity of life that animates the building. This open architecture invites a multiple range of uses, a diversity of users, and a mix of cultures.
The project proposes an interior/​exterior circulation via stairs, footbridges and floorplates, that ends on the roof with a roof terrace landscaped with hills that echo those of the surroundings, with a valley that becomes an events platform, and terraced promontories that serve as belvederes.

Programme: Renovation. Offices, reception/​tourist information for the public, gastronomy, events | Client: Stuttgart Marketing/​City of Stuttgart | Area: 3’500m² | Architects: CroMe Studio (Paris), in collaboration with Alidinger Architekten (Stuttgart) | Images: Lemonsbucket (Madrid) | Date: June-July 2021 | Location: Marktplatz, Stuttgart, Germany

You are using an outdated browser.
Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.

Haus des Turismus, Stuttgart - © Cro&Co
Haus des Turismus, Stuttgart - © Cro&Co
Haus des Turismus, Stuttgart - © Cro&Co

Haus des Turismus, Stuttgart

Concours by CroMe Studio

Implantée en plein cœur historique de Stuttgart, sur la place du marché et de la mairie, la Maison du Tourisme est un lieu représentatif de la ville et de sa région. Elle doit donc en symboliser les richesses et les spécificités : la technologie, l’art et la cuture, la cuisine, le vin, mais aussi la nature, et en particulier la situation géographique spécifique de cette cité entourée de collines.

Le bâtiment existant maintes fois remanié a un caractère assez fort qui nous a séduit et nous avons choisi d’en conserver le maximum et de le mettre en valeur.
Le volume existant est complété pour devenir un parallélépipède précis aux angles arrondis qui flotte sur un socle transparent. Une tranche de balcons est rajoutée en porte à faux sur toute la longueur de la façade côté marché afin d’offrir des surfaces extérieures qui tissent un lien fort avec la ville.

L’enveloppe est constituée de baguettes verticales en terre cuite blanche, dont la densité varie suivant la fonction abritée. Elle offre une protection solaire et/​ou visuelle aux utilisateurs, et assure l’unité de l’ensemble en lui conférant une nouvelle identité.
A l’intérieur de ce parallélépipède, la structure existante en béton a été évidée avec précision par endroits pour offrir des zones en double ou triple hauteur, créant des « surprises » visibles depuis l’extérieur. Abritant des fonctions spécifiques (vinothèque, auditorium, atrium, restaurant), ces volumes pleins ou creux, tels des objets précieux dans un écrin, dévoilent vers l’extérieur l’intensité de la vie qui anime le bâtiment. Cette architecture ouverte invite à une pluralité d’usages, une diversité d’utilisateurs, et un mélange de cultures.
Le projet propose un parcours intérieur/​extérieur à travers des escaliers, des passerelles et des plateaux qui se termine sur la toiture, une terrasse paysagée constituée de collines qui rappellent celles aux alentours, d’une vallée qui devient une plateforme événementielle et de promontoires gradinés qui servent de belvédères.

Programme: Restructuration. Bureaux, accueil/​information tourisme pour le public, gastronomie, événements | MO: Stuttgart Marketing/​Ville de Stuttgart | Surface : 3’500m² | Architectes : CroMe Studio (Paris), en collaboration avec Alidinger Architekten (Stuttgart) | Images: Lemonsbucket (Madrid) | Date : juillet 2021 | Site: Marktplatz, Stuttgart, Allemagne